Author Topic: AJAX - Partly active page content  (Read 5514 times)

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
AJAX - Partly active page content
« on: March 10, 2008, 05:04:13 pm »
From now on, +nb features also AJAX functions... I am developing my skills right there...

So far, the "You have x new mails..." will be refreshed every 15 seconds... you can still timeout btw.
I also added a timeout counter that will get active if you have less than 200 seconds left before timeout.

Next to-do will be the commentary and maybe a hook to let modules execute their own ajax stuff...
(though they might also just use the xajax class and build their own handler) =)
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Harthas

  • Guest
Re: AJAX - Partly active page content
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 11:46:19 pm »
3 times almost the same post - Endurance *g*
But it really is a quite good idea. I like it very much.

BlueIce

  • Guest
Re: AJAX - Partly active page content
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2008, 12:56:35 pm »
Great idea! AJAX has been introduced in DragonPrime a lot, yet only a not-so-active member pushed through to create an AJAX commentary system. But unfortunately, it cannot be accomplished without core-modification.

Hoping for your AJAX-based commentary soon.  ;D

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
Re: AJAX - Partly active page content
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2008, 10:37:43 am »
AJAX is *nowhere* on Dragonprime.

The commentary system I have here, btw, but I am doing my own from scratch, =)

my only concern is really only the timeout here.. as I need to update the allowednavs...

else it would have been already done.

I added (as some seemed to have problems) the AJAX as user preference, OFF as default.
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Orogan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: AJAX - Partly active page content
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 08:09:30 pm »
I was just wondering on 1.1.1.2 how do we turn AJAX features on?

Harthas

  • Guest
Re: AJAX - Partly active page content
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 08:13:41 pm »
In the players pref - Under Display Preferences.