Author Topic: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php  (Read 7646 times)

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« on: December 31, 2008, 01:44:20 am »
I have an error with version 1.2.0+nb when I try to install it. The installer works fine up untill stage 8---after the dbconnect.php file has been written. I deleted dbconnect.php and the installer moves along fine. However, when I put dbconnect.php back in to login or it exists at all, and I try to go anywhere, I get this error:

Quote
Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@dragonsplaypen.ej.am and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

Any help, please?
-Shane

::EDIT::
I know that I need dbconnect.php to run the game, that's why I am asking this. Also, when I try create my admin account, it displays this:
Quote
INSERT INTO accounts (login,password,superuser,name,ctitle,regdate) VALUES('shane','a2a47d67c9b8aa18ecbef72719090cfa',3923967,'`%Admin `&shane`0','`%Admin', NOW())Failed to create Admin account. Your first check should be to make sure that MYSQL (if that is your type) is not in strict mode.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 02:19:28 am by Shane »
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 09:17:24 am »
Your game cannot connect to the database.

If you delete the dbconnect.php, this will happen, however the installer should NOT move on.

a 500 internal server error can mean many things, for instance that you have mysql4 running on your machine, but I need mysql5 and then it clashes.

Difficult to say. Use 1.2.1 btw, it's the next stable. Has a few more checks in it, too.

Do you have a database set up? Are the credentials working?
"The game does not move along" won't help much, what *happens*?

If the game can write the dbconnect, you have all-open access rights to your webspace, anything *in* the game can modify your files. Bad bad bad. Once a hacker finds a new loophole, he can rewrite game files ^^
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2008, 09:37:30 am »
I know it should not move along, as I used to run 1.1.1 DP Version.

I should have MySQL 5, because Edward used to run a +nb version off of the same host as I.

Yes, I have a database.

Okay, I will go with 1.2.1+nb. Thank you, Nightborn.

::EDIT::
Okay, I have downloaded 1.2.1+nb and deleted all files that were previously in my CPanel and then uploaded the 1.2.1+nb core. I went through the install. Stage 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 were not a problem. I clicked on Stage 8. Install Type and it loaded the 500 Internal Server Error page again. Note that I did NOTHING to the CPanel or files within it after uploading the core. I have not changed ANY settings since I ran the 1.1.1 DP Version on it and I have also tried to upload 1.1.1 DP to it, and I can't do ANYTHING on it because of the 500 Error message.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 10:08:23 am by Shane »
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2008, 12:15:38 pm »
Note that there is not a switch in say 1.1.1.2 +nb where I say "mysql5 NOW".
I replace functions with faster ones, and it NEEDS mysql5 and php5 only since about 1.2.0, where I rewrote the output to be a class.

Honestly, a 500 can have many causes.

If 1.1.1 DP ran, it is not a guarantee that +nb will run, as said, I am more picky with mysql being version 5 and php being version 5 alone.
1.1.1 DP is now almost 2 years old :P you can't compare that.

I have no clue what you have configured, though.

Remove the .htaccess, but it shouldn't do a thing.

Oh, well, it might be the datacache if you configured one =) and access someplace you should not.

But that's a wild guess, you have not said how you set the game up.
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2008, 01:36:26 pm »
Ok. I know I definitely have MySql 5.

Ok, I know and understand this.

Ooh...I see your point, that is old.

Ok, I'll try to remove the .htaccess.

It should have nothing to do with datacache, as I didn't configure it.

::EDIT::
Okay, I looked, but could not find .htaccess.
Which folder is it in, as I am *most likely* overlooking it and not realising.

PS...sorry for any trouble I may be causing. -_-
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 02:18:23 pm by Shane »
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2008, 02:32:43 pm »
.htaccess is in the / directory in the snapshot

also one is in lib and one in modules

Mysql 5.0.3 is required to be precise.

As I still don't know what you configured, I can't say what breaks.

Most likely it seems some fault concerning the database (connection).

Best ask your hoster to check the error logs.

If a connection to MySQL results in a 500 error page -> bad sign.
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2008, 02:39:54 pm »
okay, thanks, ill check about those.

Well, I know I have MySql covered, as I said before, Edward was running 1.2.0+nb version on the very same host(not anymore, he moved and upgraded).

Well, is this what you mean(i doubt it)...I put it in my cpanel, went to the installer and put:
database info: localhost, mysqldb_dbuser, dbpass, mysqldb_dbname, NO to datacache.(i have hidden all the db info here)
dbprefix: logd_
and left all modules uninstalled.

okay, contacting host ASAP.

oi, yeah.
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2008, 04:48:53 pm »
As you have certainly setup a lotgd before, I won't question you about the correct values.

If Edward succeeded, you should too =)
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2009, 03:21:57 am »
okay, still no reply from host yet.

removing .htaccess as you said, did nothing. however, i didnt get a 500 error, but a timeout error, so I'll try to reinstall it again later.

i will find a way to make it run. untill i ask here again, i mightn't need help with installation.**knock on wood**

I will succeed
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2009, 12:20:52 pm »
well, i was able to install 1.1.1DP and i wasnt before. i think it may have been with my database. i will try 1.2.1+nb in a day or two and see.

what i did was delete ALL my databases(1) and users(1) and then created more(1) then ran the installer using the new db.
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.

Nightborn

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 320
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
    • Shinobilegends
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2009, 03:25:11 pm »
It seems to happen when an access to the database is made, as you pointed out.

But where exactly an error happens is beyond me without log access (and no webhoster will give that  to you).

Though it sounds pretty strange to me - never had any problems on various hosts, though never heard of any either.
It should be fixed, but it won't be easy and it won't be fast. If you want
to help - wonderful. But keep in mind that it will take months of wading
through the ugliest code we have in the tree. If you've got a weak stomach -
stay out. I've been there and it's not a nice place.

   - Al Viro

Shane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Dragon's PlayPen
Re: 500 Internal Server Error and dbconnect.php
« Reply #11 on: January 01, 2009, 04:35:37 pm »
okay, i have successfully upgraded to 1.2.1+nb. all i had to do was remove my databases and create new ones. I have gone through the installer with ner a prob. problem free. i think the original database might have been corrupted or didnto want to rewrite the tables. oh well, it works now.^_^
If I can, I will. If I can't, I'll try like hell.